Mayor Elam violates state law again

Notice of Special Meeting for January 15, 2010:

Pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated § 6-20-208, City Manager Randy Robertson hereby gives written notice that a Special Meeting of the Mt. Juliet Board of Commissioners will be held on January 15, 2010, at 5:30 PM at City Hall. The business to be discussed at this meeting is as follows:

a) Approval of proposed resolution of pending litigation; and
b) Discussion of road projects; and
c) Update on the City of Mt. Juliet Park system.

Here’s the relevant section of State Law:

Tennessee Code Annotated 6-20-208. Special meetings. —
Whenever, in the opinion of the mayor, city manager or any two (2) commissioners the welfare of the city demands it, the mayor or the recorder shall call special meetings of the board of commissioners upon at least twelve (12) hours written notice to each commissioner, the city manager, recorder, and city attorney, served personally or left at such person’s usual place of residence. Each call for a special meeting shall set forth the character of the business to be discussed at such meeting and no other business shall be considered at such meeting.

Class exercise: What should the response of the other city commissioners and the city attorney be if the Mayor wants to suspend the rules at a special meeting and discuss or consider business not included in the call for the special meeting?

class? class? anyone? Bueller?

7 Comments

Filed under Mt. Juliet City Commission

7 responses to “Mayor Elam violates state law again

  1. Southsider

    It seems Mayor Elam suspends the rules to hide things from the public. She gets the Commission to vote on things never published in an agenda – like lifetime health benefits for her.

    The Commission should stop allowing this abuse of power. Four out of the five have to vote to suspend the rules so any two Commissioners can stop it. I have to believe there are at least two out of these five unwilling to hide things from the public.

    Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me. How many times can she fool this Commission? Or is this Commission fooling us?

  2. Aunt Bea

    Elam wants to annex west wilson county to pump up Mt. Juliet population numbers right before the 2010 census.

  3. Paul Deyo

    Well, I haven’t been paying attention lately but it would seem to me annexing to the west is common sense with the fire protection issue. Annexing to the north, at least the already developed north, is the opposite of common sense.

    I used to be a strong proponent of annexing undeveloped property within the growth boundary as a protection against bad or shoddy zoning and development, but with a mayor who increasingly appears to be bought that is not necessarily a real fix. In fact her annexation plans may reek more of ‘tax base’ and ‘leverage’ than pumping up census numbers.

    I notice at this month’s Planning Commission meeting a planning commissioner who opposed the half-hatched plans for the MJE site at a previous meeting seconded several questionable motions for approval from the commission’s voice for developers. madam mayor must have given him a stern talking to.

  4. Dear Paul,
    A couple of questions for you.

    1. Are you a beer knurd?
    2. Are you my Flying Saucer Draught Emporium calendar “Mr. February”? (If the answer is “yes”, then would you not agree it is a good thing this was not a swim suit issue?)
    3. How much time did you spend at Opryland and the GJ boat? I was there from 1979-1989 working in Live Entertainment in the Sound Dept. BTW, you have aged much better than I…must be the Double Chocolate Stout.
    4. Is Delirium Tremens an actual beer or the state you are left in after watching the city on cable access channel 3?

    Hope you are doing well. I recognized your face as soon as I saw it and with the name remember seeing you years ago at the park. Have a good day. Stay safe and bottoms up.

  5. Paul Deyo

    That camera shoot was the most fun I’ve had all year. About 200 photos were taken with four servers, from which one shot was selected. They put dish soap in the beer to keep the head foamy so I didn’t drink it. I guess that is my nine minutes of fame. Autographs freely given.

    I did get some ribbing from the General Manager about wearing an orange Speedo so I bought a 3T orange bathing suit bottom at Goodwill (in Mt. Juliet, of course), and while I was talking to her about the shoot I pulled it out of my pocket and asked where I should change. She literally fell off of the couch and collided with a server. Thankfully for everyone involved, I never attempted to wear it.

    I was on the boat from 1990 through 1993, played the hotel Christmas show in ’93, then moved to the park for one season.

    DT is an actual Belgian ale, very good. I don’t watch the city channel anymore because it would only lead to your other scenario.

  6. Paul,
    Thank you for the reply and it is good to see you again. Did not mean to hijack the thread but I have been waiting for you to post since I got that calendar. Hope you have a great weekend. I am in ther book. Call sometime when you are thirsty. My family lives behind Ed Rice’s ham store. Take care and be safe.

  7. Paul Deyo

    We are not the only ‘beer snobs’ in Mt. Juliet, perhaps a small gathering is in order. I’m sure you’ve found the store on Lebanon Road in front of Superior Music, they keep a good selection of micros and craft beers.

    I still ‘buy Mount Juliet’ whenever I can.

    OK, everyone, back to the mayoral shenanigans….

Leave a Reply

